Quill Mcr Restaurant Review ***UPDATE – THIS RESTAURANT HAS NOW CLOSED***

Quill Visit: March 2016

Quill 3

 

A fairly recent addition to the King Street restaurant scene.  Non-pretentious, sophisticated and seamless dining experience from start to finish.  Exciting presentations of which I will only choose a few to talk about or this would be an extremely long blog.  In addition, I want to leave a few surprises for your visit.

The visit to Quill starts with their Amuse Bouche.  Parfait served in egg shell style cases, delicately displayed on fresh straw all delightful displayed in a wood casing with Quill etched upon the front.

Boring Beetroot not at Quill! Chef Curtis has skilfully mastered the art of turning the ordinary and bland beetroot into a taste explosion.  The dish was visually both delicate and a delight comprising of an array of stylish colourings married with a range of subtle garnishes.

The Chocolate dessert offering was an absolute victory on multiple levels.  The presentation was exciting and like a magpie I was instantly drawn to the subtle shine and sparkle.  Silky smooth, luxurious velvety texture, yet fresh and light with creative crunch.  A synonymous connection sparked childhood memories, both a privileged and priceless experience.  The dessert pictured is just a sample, but I could have quite easily have ate more!

The dining experience ends in the ‘Quill’ way serving delicate, delightful and delicious petits fours on pebbles in the signature etched box.  These are amazing and a really nice finish to a lovely evening.

Bury born head Chef Curtis, along with Chef Sam Brennan and the rest of the team consistently produce pure perfection.  Dining out prior to discovering Quill is merely a thought that I would not like to entertain.  I would not have a ‘Quill’ what to do without you guys! This team are first class and of Michelin star quality…watch this space.

Fellow bloggers, foodinistas and like minded people why not give Quill a try.  Pop along and have fun sampling the fab food offerings in a relaxed atmosphere.  Please mention the blog when you make your booking. Thank you and enjoy! 🙂

Quill, 20 King Street, Manchester M2 6AG

quillmcr.co.uk

info@quillmcr.co.uk

0161 832 7355

Open: Mon – Sun / 12pm – late

 

68 thoughts on “Quill Mcr Restaurant Review ***UPDATE – THIS RESTAURANT HAS NOW CLOSED***

  1. Glad you love my post and my way with words. Thank you 🙂 Manchester is worth a visit. I will be posting various articles about restaurants and bars, so do keep popping by to check out my posts and if you need any advice about Manchester just let me know 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Julie, aw no worries! It is just on king street, but unless you know about it and are actually looking for the restaurant it could easily be missed. Glad to share and hope you have a lovely time, if you need any tips let me know. Do pop by again, as I will be posting just after the Easter break 🙂

    Like

  3. Great review. I haven’t been to Manchester for years, although I originally come from not far away. Your description of that wonderful meal definitely made me want to try the Quill out for myself. Perhaps we’ll do that next time we’re over there visiting relatives.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Millie, I am really glad that my article has inspired you to want to try Quill for yourself. When you are next in town it is really worth a visit. The food is yummy! Do let me know if you need any advice or tips about things to do in Manchester. Btw let me know how your Quill visit goes, if you pay them a visit. Feel free to pop by the blog anytime 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, wow what fab comments! Thank you for your positive response! Do let me know how your visit goes. I am sure that you will have fun 🙂 Yes, it is very early days, but really enjoying blogging, reading other bloggers posts and connecting with fellow bloggers! Thank you once again and hope you enjoy my upcoming posts just as much 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely first post! So informative! Will definitely go there when I’m next in Manchester!! 😄 hope you are settling into the blogger community nicely !!! 😃 wishing you all the best for your new blog!! Running Girl xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have a rather simple palate and am not adventurous when it comes to food but I must say that dessert has my attention!!! What a descriptive and informative review which helped create in my mind the foods you were sampling as well as the Chefs who created them. Good luck with your blog, what a fantastic idea and how fun to sample and then review restaurants and bars!! Enjoy. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Deb, yes the dessert was definitely my fav dish! Maybe give it a whirl and you never know your palate may change its mind 😉 The Chefs at Quill are Genius! Curtis and Sam along with the team do an amazing job! To be honest, I don’t know how they do it. Very hard work! I am really glad you found my post informative and enjoyable. Do give me a shout if you require hints and tips about what to do and where to go in Manchester. Thank you once again. Happy Blogging!:)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If I’m ever there I will look you up. I live in the Northeast of America, but I will love to live and eat vicariously through you!! Happy Blogging to you as well!!
        Cheers!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Bethanie, thank you for visiting my blog! I am pleased to hear that. Always good to have a fellow bloggers opinion! I will make sure I stop by your post to check it out. My email is on my about page if you ever fancy swapping notes/tips or even doing a joint blog post one day in the future. Keep in touch 🙂

      Like

  6. Great first post, I haven’t been to Manchester in the longest time, but hope to return at soon for research and football. Quill sounds really ace and I hope to eat there one day, although I disagree with you about beetroot sometimes being boring, I love beetroot.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Rosie, thank you for stopping by! Research and football, sounds interesting. Quill will certainly add to your visit. I love beetroot now too! it is a fab ingredient! 🙂 Keep in touch, feel free to pop by the blog anytime and I look forward to your upcoming posts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I know Manchester is worth visiting and it’s in my list….
    Now I know where to eat , too!

    PS My problem is that , here in Italy ,I can never have desserts at restaurants , due to my lactose-allergy….
    Hope to find something lactose-free at Quill!

    Congrats for your blog!

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Hello!
    This is an amazing review!
    I do not live in UK and I am so disappointed that I could not visit the restaurant:(
    But I would like to have a meal in this restaurant if I had the opportunity to visit UK again in the future!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

